Volunteer Fire Districts

 How to Sign Up as a Volunteer

If you are interested in volunteering with the Santa Fe County Fire Department and would like more information, contact Captain Mike Jaffa at 505-992-3087 or by e-mail at mjaffa@santafecountynm.gov.

Santa Fe County Volunteer Fire Districts

Agua Fria
El Dorado

Glorieta Pass
La Cienega
La Puebla

Turquoise Trail

Volunteer Program Opportunities

We currently have 2 methods of volunteering depending on your circumstances and area of residence.

1) District Volunteers:

Generally reside or work within the boundaries of one of our 14 fire districts which allows them to respond from their residence or workplace to the fire station when an emergency call is received. There are no qualifications required to begin participating in this manner and training can be obtained via the Santa Fe County Fire Department Volunteer Academy, once you become a member.

2) Regional Volunteers:

This program is for individuals who live outside the boundaries of our districts (within city limits or in another county). These volunteers must attend the Santa Fe County Fire Department Volunteer Fire Academy prior to working in the field as a volunteer. Once the academy is complete, they work 12 hour shifts (7:00am to 7:00pm whenever they wish) along side the paid staff. Minimum requirements for this level of membership are:

  • Successfully pass a Firefighter Civil Service Exam - 100 questions, multiple choice;
  • Successfully complete the Physical Agility Test - timed step test & modified combat challenge;
  • Successfull completion of the Santa Fe County Volunteer Fire Academy which consists of the following courses:
    • SFCFD Orientation - 12 hours
    • Firefighter 1st Aid / CPR - 12 hours
    • Hazmat Awareness & Operations - 40 hours
    • Wildland Fire Behavior S130/190 - 32 hours
    • Firefighter 1 - 80 hours


The first fire district to be created by the Santa Fe County Board of Commissioners was the Pojoaque Fire District in 1959. By 1982 there were eleven officially recognized fire districts in the County and a twelfth was in the process of forming. The Fire Districts defined the area through which emergency services (fire, rescue and EMS) were provided. In February of 1997 the Santa Fe County Fire Department was officially organized under the administration of a single fire chief with service areas further defined by region and district. The original county fire districts were consolidated into the Department for administrative oversight purposes and paid firefighters were added to geographic regions to support and augment the services provided by those districts.

The Santa Fe County Fire Department is currently supported by more than 340 volunteer members whom are responsible for responding to fire, rescue and EMS emergencies twenty-four hours a day, three hundred and sixty-five days per year.